Technical Oral Program (23/09/2016)

NANOTEC2016 Technical Oral Program

Posters List (23/09/2016)

NANOTEC2016 Posters List


Confirmed speakers

Alain Dufresne Dr. Alain DUFRESNE

Professor at the Grenoble Institute of Technology. He has more than 20 years of experience in the fields of processing and characterization of heterogeneous polymer systems, valorization of the biomass, new materials based on polysaccharides (blends, composites), polysaccharide microfibrils and nanocrystals (cellulose, chitin, starch), nanocomposite materials, structure / properties relationships, optimization of the domain morphology and interfaces between these domains and modeling of the behavior of heterogeneous systems. Dr. Dufresne is member of the Editorial Board of several journals including “Carbohydrate Polymers”, “Packaging Research” or “Fibers” among others.


Shaul Lapidot Dr. Shaul LAPIDOT

Co-founder and CTO of Melodea. He graduated his MSc and PhD at the lab of Professor Oded Shoseyov at the Faculty of Agriculture of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He has more than 10 years of extensive academic research in the field of nano cellulose, protein engineering and bio-composites. He was awarded the Hebrew University of Jerusalem Kaye Award for innovative research by 2009 and the Barenholz award for applied research by 2011.


Jed Johnson Dr. Jed JOHNSON

Dr. Johnson is the Co-Founder and Chief Technology Officer of Nanofiber Solutions, Inc. a regenerative medicine company developing a new class of implants with unrivaled performance for the $20B organ repair and regeneration market.  His education includes a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from The Ohio State University and he has completed the Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization program through the Fisher College of Business.  Dr. Johnson led the team that won 1st place in the 2009 Deloitte Business Plan Competition to start Nanofiber Solutions and has served as Principal Investigator on numerous National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health and Ohio Third Frontier grants.


Karen DeCleckDr. Karen DE CLERCK

Ph.D. in Materials Science, Master degree in Textile Engineering from Ghent University and Master degree in Textile Technology from The University of Manchester. In 2007 she was appointed associate professor at the Department of Textiles at Ghent University. Her research interests include fiber technology and textile chemistry, with an important focus during the last decade towards the production and functionalization of nanofiber based materials. Her group developed expertise on several in-house designed electrospinning set-ups and methodologies. This involves the spinning of many polymer systems for a range of advanced applications e.g. composite toughening, water filtration and sensing applications. She is author or co-author of more than 100 publications including 60 A1 peer reviewed journal articles, 3 book chapters and 4 patent applications.

Eugenio Coronado2Prof. Eugenio CORONADO

Inorganic Chemistry Chair and Director of the Molecular Sciences Institute at the University of Valencia. Scientific Director at the European Institute of Molecular Magnetism. PhD in Chemical Sciences from Univsersity of Valencia and PhD in Physics from the Université Louis Pasteur d’Estrasburg. His main Research fields are related to the design and synthesis of new molecular materials with magnetic electric and optical properties. In the last years his research has been centered in the use of a molecular approach to design multifunctional materials and molecular nanomagnets. His work has been published in more than 400 articles in international journals and in more than 30 reviews. He has been recognized with the National Prize of Scientific-Technical Resarch Rey Juan Carlos I (2001), and the Prize Jaime I of New technologies (2003), among others.

Jan BukMr. Jan BUK

Chief Operating Officer at PARDAM s.r.o. a Graduated at Charles University in Prague. Vice President of the Czech Association of Nanotechnology Industry, Member of the Board of the Czech Association of Applied Photo Catalyzes.  Experienced in Project management focused on Development and Production of Nanofibrous materials and applications for nanofibrous materials. Co-author of several patents and applications. Within the company is responsible for coordinating R&D projects (commercial and EU funded), Production, Product and Business development. Great experiences with Electrospinning and Centrifugal Spinning technologies and both types of nanofibrous materials (Inorganic and Polymeric) including know how on production, postreatment and application of those materials into commercial products.

SuwanDr. Suwan N. JAYASINGHE

Leader of the BioPhysics Group at University College London. Jayasinghe’s group has published over 150 scientific articles, which have been highlighted in many learned society journals, the popular press including news providers such as Reuters, BBC and the Associated Press. His group has made several discoveries having significance to advanced bioanalysis and diagnostics to tissue engineering and regenerative/therapeutic biology and medicine. These pioneering investigations are currently undergoing intense exploration for their exploitation in the clinic for repairing, replacing and rejuvenating damaged/diseased and/or ageing tissues/organs.


Chris SammonProf. Chris SAMMON

Professor of Polymer Science at Sheffield Hallam University, he began his career as a vibrational spectroscopist interested in the hydration properties of commodity polymers. This knowledge has been adapted to the study of pharmaceutical systems and he continues to work closely with a number of blue chip companies. More recently he has developed nanotechnology based IP associated with injectable hydrogels with applications for use in a wide range of regenerative therapies including the treatment of degenerative disc disease, non-union fractures and cartilage repair. He is a strong advocate of the advancement of public awareness of science and regularly undertakes outreach activities in schools, bars and community centres.

Lorenzo PastranaProf. Lorenzo PASTRANA

Head of the Department of Health, Food and Environment at the International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory at Braga (Portugal). Professor at the University of Vigo (1991-2015) and Head of Knowledge Transfer Office (2009-2010). Founder of the Galician Agri-Food Technology Platform (2006). His current research work addresses the production of nanostructures (particles, tubes) with food grade polymers for controlled or mucoadhesive release of bioactives in food packaging/processing applications and the use of microfluidics to evaluate the catalytic properties of thermophilic lipases. He is author of more than one hundred scientific papers and 4 licenced patents related to the development of new food products and process. Prof. Pastrana has led more than 30 National and European research projects as PI.

Kristiina Oksman

Dr. Kristiina OKSMAN

PhD from Luleå University of Technology, in Sweden 1997 on wood thermoplastic composites. After five years as project leader at SICOMP (Swedish Institute of Composites) in Piteå, Sweden she was appointed as professor on polymers and polymer based composites at Norwegian University of Science and Technology, in Trondheim, Norway. At present, she is the director of the Composite Centre Sweden and Chair Professor on Wood and Bionanocomposites at the Division of Materials Science, Luleå University of Technology. She is also Adjunct professor in the University of Toronto at Faculty of Forestry, in Canada since 2006. Recently, she was appointed as FiDiPro professor at the University of Oulu in Finland and as Biocomposite Editor for Elsevier Journal Composite Part A: Applied Science and Manufacturing.